STALKER - Printversion
- Reviews: AUDIO CD -


Titel / Title Golden Feathers 
Label Werewolf Productions 
Total run time
Vö/Releasebereits erschienen / already released 
Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in /var/customers/webs/stalker/ on line 220
Well, those bands from Czech Republic have always been something special, I have to mention that here. And although this act is defined as “Death Metal” (alright, there´s also this band name), I rather doubt that this category is correct. Deathstar could just as well be defined as Melodic Metal, Thrash (those killer riffs on City 17 remind you of Megadeth/Slayer heydays) or Progressive Metal. Because there is a lot of groove, variation and ear-candy music offered here.

Deathstar quartet was founded in 2006 from the ashes of Scythe and Thanathea bands, and two founding members have remained: Honza Pilař (voc, rhythm guitar) and Honza Richter (drums). Those 2 had to continue on their own for a while, and slowly early Black Metal tendencies were shed, they created a modern Death Sound with Thrash elements. Since 2009 Pavel (lead git) and Petr Ševčik (bass) are part of the newLine Up, and according to the band info those 2 are responsible for some musical fresh air, too. Let´s be greatful for that, because, well, sure, Blastbeats are a dominating element of this remarkable debut album, but there´s such a lot of groove and feeling and ear candy quality… grind freaks would probably find it too slow, complex and boring. But I am blown away – finally a band who combines technical and complex Death Metal in a melodic and appealing way – and STILL doesn´t sound like a Swedish clone.

The band website is unfortunately just in Czech language, but you will find some tracks there, I can recommend e.g. the already mentioned City 17 or Embrace To Harvest – but all their songs are really cool...

1. Intro
2. The Fall Of Man
3. Golden Feathers
4. Redemption Through Revenge
5. City 17
6. Into The Fire
7. Embrace To Harvest
8. Intermezzo
9. Light Up The Darkness

Klaudia Weber

Read comments: 0                           Write comments