STALKER - Printversion
- Reviews: AUDIO CD -


Titel / Title Isolation  
Label Spinefarm Records 
Total run time
Vö/Releasebereits erschienen / already released 
Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in /var/customers/webs/stalker/ on line 220
It´s been a while since the last release by this Finnish act (see our review), and some things have changed. As successor of Entwine-Fronter Mika Tauriainen, Minna Sihvonen has taken over the ShamRain microphone – and it seems that hereby the last vague connection with the Rock scene has vanished. I had mentioned the connection with Radiohead before, and now the tendency towards Brit-Alternative-Pop-Electronic is even more obvious (A Room With No View). In a good and in a bad way at the same time, because sometimes those catchy tunes get a bit too gooey (e.g. the “Laura Palmer”-stylish Until Twilight). The opener provokes comparisons with Ladytron – a bit too shallow for my taste. Luckily, Minna remembers her versatile voice and lets it shine in songs where the band cranks it up a notch to more Prog. Occasionally, I had to think of Kate Bush, or Björk during “Quiet Day” and “Slow The World”. The latter is the best song on this CD, in my opinion, some nice kitsch-free ear candy. The only “Finnish” tracks – with a good portion of melancholy – for me are “Surreal Play” and “Noises”. Can be seen – as mentioned - in a good or in a bad way. For me it was not quite convincing.

1. How Can I Make It Through the Night?
2. Everything Made Perfect Sense
3. Until Twilight
4. A Room With No View
5. Quiet Today
6. Surreal Play
7. Noises
8. Slow the World
9. Horizon
10. The Deep End of the Ocean

Minna Sihvonen – voc
Mikko Kolari – guit
Jukka Laine – drums
Matti Reinola – bass, synth
Kalle Pyyhtinen – guit, synth

Klaudia Weber

Read comments: 0                           Write comments