Warning: mt_rand(): max(-1) is smaller than min(0) in /var/customers/webs/stalker/www.stalker.cd/inc/inc-home.php on line 93 Warning: Illegal string offset 'URL' in /var/customers/webs/stalker/www.stalker.cd/inc/inc-home.php on line 112 Warning: Illegal string offset 'LOC' in /var/customers/webs/stalker/www.stalker.cd/inc/inc-home.php on line 113 Warning: Illegal string offset 'URL' in /var/customers/webs/stalker/www.stalker.cd/inc/inc-home.php on line 130 Warning: Illegal string offset 'LOC' in /var/customers/webs/stalker/www.stalker.cd/inc/inc-home.php on line 131 Homepage of Stalker Magazine
STALKER - Printversion
- Reviews: AUDIO CD -


Titel / Title In Death´s Shadow 
Label Ancient Oaks 
Web www.knightmaremetal.com
Total run time
Vö/ReleaseDecember 2012 
Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in /var/customers/webs/stalker/www.stalker.cd/content_module/rezensionen_show.php on line 220
This is now the second act from down-under - after Ne Obliviscaris – that simply blows my mind with their debut album (mixed by Ermin Hamidovic, Systematic Productions, masterded by Plec, Panic Room Studios Sweden – e.g.Scar Symmetry, Watain). WOW – simply great, buy it!
Well, perhaps I have to provide some more details how I came to this conclusion: You can still hear that the Australian band Knightmare have their roots in Power Metal, yet they developed some Prog tendencies and developed a style which is difficult to define genre-wise. Heartbreakingly beautiful melodies occasionally get some Blast Beat treatment, the Folk-ish touch, the voice and the acoustic guitars (”Granted Death”, ”False Prophets”) remind me of Amorphis. Otherwise the music and especially the voice of Mick Simpson relates somehow to good old Savatage – and this band with their entire back catalogue might be the best way to explain what I mean: fantastic music, very melodic and catchy, epic, still very heavy and aggressive, passionate, providing huge variety, it grabs you instantly and doesn´t let you go, you want to hear it over and over again. No weak song, no ”awkward moment”. A masterpiece. Maximum points. And again:
WOW – simply great, buy it!

Track Listing:
1. Cazador De Hombres (6:27)
2. Granted Death (9:45)
3. False Prophets (8:50)
4. Apocalypse (6:36)
5. Knightmare (7:58)
6. Unity Through Chaos (8:44)
7. Judgment (10:41)

Mick Simpson - Vocals
Luke Besley - Guitars
James Munro - Guitars
Matt McConaghy - Bass

Klaudia Weber

Read comments: 0                           Write comments