STALKER - Printversion
- Reviews: AUDIO CD -


Titel / Title The Divinity Of Purpose 
Label Nuclear Blast  
Total run time
Vö/Releasebereits erschienen / already released 
Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in /var/customers/webs/stalker/ on line 220
Straightforward, honest and reliable are among the first adjectives that come to mind when thinking of Connecticut hardcore veterans Hatebreed. Their style may have shifted slightly around the basic pillars of HC, punk and metal, but never alienating fans with drastic changes. The sixth and latest offering faithfully continues in the same vain, albeit taking a small step back towards the roots. Not a recipe for surprises, yet by surprise this album managed to take me. I expected The Divinity Of Purpose to be brutal (rightfully), but nowhere near as infectious, uplifting and addictive as it turned out to be. The concise eleven-song, high-energy package clocks in at little over half an hour but makes you want to push the repeat button right away.

While modern in terms of big sound and flawless production, the raw immediacy of the songs itself is very old-school, or maybe "timeless" would be a better description. Hatebreed´s music has sometimes been dubbed "attitude metal", and there could hardly be a better definition for this term than the opening track of the new album. "Here´s to burning out and here´s to fading away: Fuck you both, I just put it to the torch!" ´Nuff said. Amidst the anthems of defiance, we also find lines of poignant reflection: "Some men still fight silent battles until their final days / Some will be forgotten having no one know their names / But I stand here grateful for the courage that they gave" sums up the feeling of "Honor Never Dies", written by vocalist Jamey Jasta after a visiting his grandfather at a veterans´ hospital where many highly decorated old soldiers spent their dying days alone. Don´t expect a ballad, though - Jasta delivers this track in the same self-dubbed "drill sergeant" style he applies to the whole album. The short, but all the more effective, outbursts of melody are supplied by the guitars, along with steamroller riffs guaranteed to keep you on the move. These songs are absolutely meant to be played live - and sang, or rather shouted, along at full lung power: "Fists up, head high, we own the fucking world tonight!"

1. Put It To The Torch
2. Honor Never Dies
3. Own Your World
4. The Language
5. Before The Fight Ends You
6. Indivisible
7. Dead Man Breathing
8. The Divinity Of Purpose
9. Nothing Scars Me
10. Bitter Truth
11. Boundless (Time To Murder It)

Tina Solda

Read comments: 0                           Write comments