STALKER - Printversion
- Reviews: AUDIO CD -

Black Light Discipline

Titel / Title Death By a Thousand Cuts 
Label Raw Entertainment 
Total run time
Vö/Releasebereits erschienen / already released 
Deprecated: Function split() is deprecated in /var/customers/webs/stalker/ on line 220
Bad day? This is the best remedy to improve your mood, and you don´t even need a doctor … The third CD (mixed by keyboarder Janne Kankkunen and mastered by Janne Tolsa / Note-On Studio) does not only offer extremely catchy ear candy, but even introduces the album with one -”Look At Me Now” will definitely keep echoing in your brain for a long time …
Therefore it´s safe to say that this act from Kuopio presents once again their strengths – heavy metal riffs, catchy keyboard tunes and vocal melodies and a rhythm that inspires your dance moves – or your headbanging muscles. As mentioned, there´s lot of ear candy, and the single Under The Knife even provides some gooseflesh moments, great song! Toni shows off his vocal skills on this album, and when I had described him once as “Ville Valo´s evil twin”, this comparison fits well when listening to songs like Signs and Freaked, as those tracks give some overall “old HIM” impression – meaning, there´s a touch of Electronic Pop.

No worries, although this album has maybe a bit more “Disco” flair – when the keyboard sound gets to 90s or the dance-inspiring beat – those heavy riffs and guitar soli, or the blast beats in Hell Around The Corner - make clear that this band´s music still contains plenty of heavy metal. The biggest surprise is delivered in the end, with the Finnish title Syviin Vesiin (Into deep water). A great song which initially reminds you of genre/label colleagues Turmion Kätilöt but soon gets the typical BLD drive; Toni´s voice and his style sounds much more intense in his mother tongue. Therefore those guys could maybe try this Finnish thing a bit more often, perhaps?

Summing up, an album that´s a must for fans anyway, and everybody who enjoys a mix of electronic music and metal should definitely check out this band!

BLD: Toni Valha (vocals), Janne Kankkunen (synths), Veikka Jokela (drums), Joonas Pulkkinen (guitar), Jani Rissanen (bass)

1. Intro
2. Look At Me Now
3. On Fire
4. The Way We Wanted
5. Under The Knife
6. First Sign
7. Freaked
8. Electronic
9. Hell Is Around The Corner
10. Afraid Of Tomorrow
11. The Time Is Now
12. Syviin Vesiin

Klaudia Weber

Read comments: 0                           Write comments